Kent Bernier and Oakland Benta Secure Number 1 Spot on Democratric Primary Ballot. See Full Results.

Politics Published On June 01, 2022 04:22 AM
Ernice Gilbert | June 01, 2022 04:22:46 AM

Senator Javan James shows his ballot picking on Tues. May 31, 2022 at the Election System office on St. Croix.

Candidates in this year's upcoming Democratic Primary Election, scheduled for August 6 participated in the casting of lots Tuesday and according to Elections Supervisor Caroline Fawkes, “All candidates were vetted and approved to be on the Primary Election Ballot."

In the gubernatorial race, candidates Kent Bernier and Oakland Benta won the number 1 placement on the ballot. They are taking on Governor Albert Bryan Jr. and Lieutenant Governor Tregenza Roach. Whoever wins the primary will face off with independent candidates for the general election scheduled for Nov. 8.

In the at-large Senate race, Angel Bolques Jr. secured the number 1 placement on the ballot and will face off with beleaguered Senator Steven Payne Sr

The ballot positions for St. Croix senatorial candidates are as follows: 3: Troy C. Williams, 4: Genevieve Whitaker, 5: Diane T. Capehart, 6: Novelle E. Francis, Jr., 7: Nemmy Williams Jackson, 8: Kenneth Kenny Gittens, 9: Marise C. James, 10: Hubert Lorenzo Frederick, and 11: Javan E. James.

Mr. James had decided not to run, stating that he needed to spend more time with his family. But in an about turn, less than a month later the senator said he would seek reelection and on May 10 filed the necessary documents.

Senator Kurt Vialet's name is not on the primary election ballot as he's engaged in the gubernatorial race as an independent candidate. Therefore, he will be on the Nov. 8 ballot with running mate Sen. Janelle Sarauw.

Senatorial ballot positions in the St. Thomas-St. John District are as follows: 3: Ke’ Shawn k. J. Louis, 4: Joel S. Browne Connors, 5: Milton E. Potter, 6: Teofilo Ciprian, 7: Lawrence Boschulte, 8: Marvin A. Blyden, 9: Shenelle Fina Francis, 10: Ray Fonseca, 11: Donna Frett-Gregory, 12: Carla J. Joseph. 

See the full results of the casting of lots in the St. Croix District here, and St. Thomas-St. John here.

Get the latest news straight to your phone with the VI Consortium app.